Skip Navigation




The Annual Conference Committee, working with the CAA Programs Department, selects the sessions and shapes the program of the Annual Conference. The committee ensures that the program reflects CAA’s goals for the conference, namely, to make it an effective place for intellectual, aesthetic, and professional learning and exchange; to reflect the diverse interests of the membership; and to provide opportunities for participation that are fair, equal, and balanced.


New for CAA2020; The Annual Conference Committee will appoint 50-75 CAA members to the Council of Readers to serve a crucial role in the review process. The Council is tasked with reading proposals submitted by CAA members within each Reader’s specialty. Readers  provide their time, knowledge, and expertise to help shape the conference. Review of proposals is overseen by the Committee and will occur in May. Each member of the Council of Readers will review no more than 60 proposals.

Take a look at the form for more details and to apply. Deadline: April 18, 2019.


Elizabeth Schlatter, University of Richmond Museums, outgoing Vice President for Annual Conference and CAA Board Liaison
Melissa Hilliard Potter, Columbia College Chicago, incoming Vice President for Annual Conference and CAA Board Liaison
Charlene Villaseñor Black, University of California, Los Angeles, Chair
Lynne Allen, Boston University, CAA Board Liaison
Colin Blakely, University of Arizona, CAA Board Liaison
Jessica Crocker, Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual Arts, Students and Emerging Professionals Committee Representative
Tiffany Dugan, CAA Staff Liaison (ex officio) 
Mira Friedlaender, CAA Staff Liaison (ex officio)
Diana Gisolfi, Pratt Institute 
Carma Gorman, The University of Texas at Austin, CAA Board Liaison
Rosemary M. O’Neill, Parsons School of Design, The New School 
Jennifer Rissler, San Francisco Art Institute, CAA Board Liaison
Richard Serrano, Art This Week Productions, Services to Artists Committee Representative

Joseph Lamar Underwood, Kent State University


Please direct all queries regarding the Annual Conference Committee to Tiffany Dugan, CAA director of programs and publications.