Skip Navigation



Museum Committee


The Museum Committee provides a bridge between scholars and arts professionals in the academic and museum fields. It offers a forum for the discussion of issues of mutual interest and promotes museum advocacy issues within CAA. The committee lends support and mentorship for both seasoned and emerging professionals to protect and interpret the arts within museums.

Current Projects

The Museum Committee’s current projects include conducting a survey of museum-affiliated CAA members to assess how the committee can better serve their interests, and working on a broader CAA initiative encouraging museums to share images of works in their collections to scholars free of charge. The committee also serves an advocacy role in museum-deaccession issues and connects with two CAA affiliated societies, the Association of Art Museum Curators and the Association of Academic Museums and Galleries, when appropriate.

Committee Members (2017–18)

Anuradha Vikram, Otis College of Art and Design, Chair
Bruce Altshuler, New York University
Leda Cempellin, South Dakota State University
Laura Flusche, Museum of Design Atlanta
Judy Hoos Fox, c2-curatorsquared
Ivan Gaskell, Bard Graduate Center
Antoniette (Toni) Guglielmo, Getty Leadership Institute at Claremont Graduate University
Jim Hopfensperger, Western Michigan University, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Betty Leigh Hutcheson, CAA Staff Liaison (ex officio)
Adam Jolles, Florida State University
Saadia N. Lawton, CAA Staff Liaison (ex officio)
Risham Majeed, Ithaca College
Anne-Imelda Radice, American Folk Art Museum, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Jennifer Reynolds-Kaye, Yale Center for British Art
Elizabeth Rodini, Johns Hopkins University
N. Elizabeth Schlatter, University of Richmond Museums, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Celka Straughn, Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas